Matthew Huxley, Président de Toronto Alliance to End Homelessness Lived Experience Working Group

08 novembre 2021

Clemence Marcastel

Matthew Huxley est un Autochtone sans statut qui a passé la majeure partie de sa vie, dès son plus jeune âge, dans « le système ». Matthew a également passé 20 à 22 ans dans la rue à lutter pour vivre. Il attend un logement mais en attendant, il loge chez un ami.

Matthew voulait faire partie du groupe People With Lived Experience (PWLE) à Toronto Alliance to End Homelessness pour se lever et essayer de faire entendre sa voix dans la foule afin qu’il puisse s’exprimer sur les problèmes liés à la pauvreté. Matthew croit que PWLE doit avoir une voix et sera éventuellement impliqué dans la résolution de l’objectif général de mettre fin à l’itinérance et à la pauvreté.

Pendant la COVID-19, Matthew était un expert sur le rapport de la Fondation Maytree Engaging lived and living expertise in COVID-19 recovery planning. En travaillant en étroite collaboration avec son réseau d’amis et de pairs vivant dans des campements de parcs, il apporte des informations critiques sur les expériences des personnes réfugiées dans les parcs pendant la pandémie.

Partners

Restez au fait des possibilités de financement, des programmes et des événements offerts par les Amis des parcs

Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre de Amis des parcs

Matthew Huxley, Chair of the Toronto Alliance to End Homelessness Lived Experience Working Group

November 8, 2021

Clemence Marcastel

Matthew Huxley is a non-status Indigenous person that spent most of his life, from a very young age, in “the system”. Matthew has also spent 20 to 22 years on the streets struggling to live. He is waiting for housing but in the meantime is staying with a friend.

Matthew wanted to be a part of the People With Lived Experience (PWLE) group at Toronto Alliance to End Homelessness to stand up and try to get a voice in the crowd so he can speak out about the issues surrounding poverty. Matthew believes that PWLE need to have a voice and will eventually be involved in helping solve the general goal of ending homelessness and poverty.

During COVID-19, Matthew was an expert informant on Maytree Foundation’s report Engaging lived and living expertise in COVID-19 recovery planning. Through working closely with his network of friends and peers living in park encampments, he brings critical insights on the experiences of people sheltering in parks during the pandemic.

Partners

Stay in the loop about Park People opportunities, programs & events

Subscribe to our newsletter!