2018 Recipients!

Red Embers

Allan Gardens | Partners: Native Women’s Resource Centre, Lisa Rochon, Larissa Roque, and Tiffany Creyke | 2018

Fondés en 1858, les jardins Allan avec leur célèbre Palm House en verre et leurs arbres centenaires sont parmi les parcs les plus anciens de Toronto. L’installation Red Embers (braise rouge) souligne que le parc est depuis longtemps un lieu de rassemblement important pour les peuples autochtones, tout en étant aux prises avec des problèmes de vandalisme et de violence. Visant à célébrer le grand talent des artistes autochtones et à commémorer les femmes autochtones disparues et assassinées, l’installation cherche à nouer de nouvelles relations positives entre les peuples autochtones et non autochtones.

L’installation Red Embers est une œuvre conçue et réalisée spécifiquement pour le site par les designers autochtones Tiffany Creyke, Larissa Roque et Lisa Rochon, de Citylab. Sous le couvert végétal et le long des principaux sentiers des jardins Allan, treize portes en cèdre calciné seront installées avec une grande bannière rouge suspendue à chacune d’elles. Toutes les bannières en tissu seront cousues et interprétées individuellement par des femmes autochtones locales, y compris des designers et artistes célèbres. L’installation rend hommage aux 13 Grand-mères Lunes du Système lunaire, car c’est la Grand-mère Lune qui offre la guérison et un rééquilibrage d’énergie pour les femmes qui ont subi la violence domestique ou une agression sexuelle. Le dévoilement de l’installation au printemps 2019 sera accompagné d’une cérémonie de purification dirigée par une aînée et il s’inscrira dans la programmation autochtone des jardins Allan.

Red Embers est un symbole important et puissant d’inclusion par la fabrication d’espaces autochtones, montrant la voie à suivre alors que notre ville déploie des efforts pour favoriser la réconciliation.

« L’art peut changer les attitudes et ouvrir les esprits. Red Embers, avec ses magnifiques bannières dessinées par des femmes autochtones, attirera les visiteurs aux jardins Allan pour leur faire découvrir une installation puissante sur la vitalité des femmes autochtones tout en rendant hommage à celles qui nous ont quittés trop tôt. En se faisant le champion de la réinvention des espaces sous-utilisés de la ville de Toronto grâce à de l’art public significatif, l’IEP aide à bâtir une ville tolérante où il fait bon vivre. » – L’équipe de Red Embers. 

Next Recipient

Our Supporters

Park People's work is generously supported by a range of corporations, foundations, government agencies and individuals. We are grateful for their support.

Gold Sponsorship

icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

Silver Sponsorship

icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

Restez au fait des possibilités de financement, des programmes et des événements offerts par les Amis des parcs

Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre de Amis des parcs

2018 Recipients!

Red Embers

Allan Gardens | Partners: Native Women’s Resource Centre, Lisa Rochon, Larissa Roque, and Tiffany Creyke | 2018

Allan Gardens is one of Toronto’s most historic parks, founded in 1858 with its iconic glass Palm House and century-old trees. The installation, Red Embers, recognizes that the park has long been an important gathering space for Indigenous peoples, while also struggling with issues of vandalism and violence. Conceived as a celebration of the brilliance of Indigenous artists and as a memorial to the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Red Embers seeks to open up new positive relationships between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples.

The Red Embers installation is a site-specific work by Indigenous designers Tiffany Creyke, Larissa Roque and Citylab’s Lisa Rochon. Below the tree canopy and along the major pathways in Allan Gardens, thirteen charred cedar gates will be installed with a great red banner suspended from each one. All of the fabric banners will be individually stitched and interpreted by local Indigenous women, including celebrated designers and artists. The installation honours the 13 Grandmother Moons within the Lunar System, as it is the Grandmother Moon that provides healing and a re-balancing of energy for women who have experienced domestic violence or sexual assault. The unveiling of Red Embers in the Spring 2019 will be accompanied by a smudging ceremony led by an Elder and be linked to Indigenous programming in Allan Gardens.

Red Embers is an important and powerful symbol of increased inclusion through Indigenous placemaking, showing a path forward as our city works towards Reconciliation. 

“Art can change attitudes and open our minds. Red Embers, with its banners artfully designed by Indigenous women, will magnetically draw visitors to Allan Gardens to experience a powerful installation about the vitality of Indigenous women while honouring the ones who left us too soon. By championing the reinvention of underutilized space in the City of Toronto through meaningful public art, PSI helps to build a more liveable and tolerant city.” – Red Embers team

Next Recipient

Our Supporters

Park People's work is generously supported by a range of corporations, foundations, government agencies and individuals. We are grateful for their support.

Gold Sponsorship

icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

Silver Sponsorship

icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

Stay in the loop about Park People opportunities, programs & events

Subscribe to our newsletter!