2018 Recipients!

Urban Discovery

Bathurst and Front Streets | stackt, Earth Day Canada, Children’s Discovery Centre | 2018

Urban Discovery est une initiative axée sur les jeunes qui vise à changer les perceptions à l’égard d’éléments habituellement considérés comme nuisibles, par exemple un grand couloir ferroviaire au centre-ville. En créant une aire d’observation à partir d’un conteneur d’expédition et d’un espace extérieur, le projet présentera les 14 voies ferrées du couloir ferroviaire à l’intersection de Bathurst et Front comme une occasion d’apprentissage et un objet de curiosité, nous aidant à nous sentir reliés d’une toute nouvelle façon à une partie de la ville souvent négligée.

Urban Discovery s’est installé à Stackt, un marché aménagé dans des conteneurs d’expédition agissant en même temps de carrefour culturel au coin de Bathurst et de Front. La programmation d’Urban Discovery se fera en partenariat avec des spécialistes des terrains de jeux d’aventure éphémères, Jour de la Terre Canada et le programme éducatif Children’s Discovery Centre. L’aire d’observation sera ouverte en tout temps, mais la programmation sera offerte à des moments clés du projet à compter du printemps 2019.

En transformant les quartiers de la ville parfois qualifiés de « pollution visuelle » en quelque chose d’attrayant pour tous les âges, Urban Discovery offre une occasion emballante de changer notre façon de voir ces lieux.

« Nous sommes ravis d’avoir reçu la subvention de l’Incubateur d’espaces publics. Cette subvention nous aidera à améliorer davantage notre projet visant à transformer des terrains inutilisés au 28, Bathurst en une expérience de découverte enrichissante pour tous nos visiteurs. »

– Matt Rubinoff, fondateur de Stackt

La plateforme de visualisation potentielle telle qu’imaginée par LGA Architectural Partners.

Next Recipient

Our Supporters

Park People's work is generously supported by a range of corporations, foundations, government agencies and individuals. We are grateful for their support.

Gold Sponsorship

icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

Silver Sponsorship

icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

Restez au fait des possibilités de financement, des programmes et des événements offerts par les Amis des parcs

Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre de Amis des parcs

2018 Recipients!

Urban Discovery

Bathurst and Front Streets | stackt, Earth Day Canada, Children’s Discovery Centre | 2018

Urban Discovery is a youth-focused initiative that aims to change perceptions about things normally viewed as a nuisance—like a large downtown rail corridor. By creating a viewing area out of a shipping container and exterior area, the project will present the 14 tracks in the rail corridor at Bathurst and Front as an object of education and curiousity, helping us to connect in a new way with a part of the city often overlooked.

Based at stackt, a shipping container market and cultural hub at Bathurst and Front Street, Urban Discovery will be programmed in partnership with pop-up adventure playground specialists Earth Day Canada and educational programming by the Children’s Discovery Centre. While the viewing area will be open at all times stackt is operational, programming will be delivered at key moments throughout the project starting in Spring 2019.

Urban Discovery presents an exciting opportunity to change our thinking about areas of the city that may be called “eyesores” by reframing them into something engaging for all ages. 

“We are thrilled to have been awarded the Public Space Incubator grant. This grant will assist us in further enhancing our objective of taking unused land at 28 Bathurst and transforming it into an experience of curated discovery for all of our visitors.” – Matt Rubinoff, stackt Founder

Rendering of potential viewing platform by LGA Architectural Partners.

 

Next Recipient

Our Supporters

Park People's work is generously supported by a range of corporations, foundations, government agencies and individuals. We are grateful for their support.

Gold Sponsorship

icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

Silver Sponsorship

icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon

Stay in the loop about Park People opportunities, programs & events

Subscribe to our newsletter!